Hotels Paris  CybevasionGo back to homepage
Search for an hotel in Paris

Tourism

Areas of Paris
The Louvre, 1st district Champs Elysees - Triumph Arc, 8th and 16th districts
Madeleine - Opera, 2nd and 9th districts Montparnasse, 14th district
Marais - Republique, 4th, 11th and 12th districts Le Trocadero, 16th district
Latin Quarter, 5th district Montmartre, 18th district
Saint Germain, 6th district Chatelet
Eiffel Tower, 7th and 15th districts The Isle of the City


THE LOUVRE (1st district)
LE LOUVRE
Metro : Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1,7)

The Louvre Museum (Musée du Louvre) is an imposing palace. At the beginnig, ie in 1190, it was a fortified castle whose relics are in the archaeological crypt of the museum. Then, 4 centuries of French kings lived there and it became a royal residence. Today, it houses the Mona Lisa, the Venus de Milo and others : the Louvre owns the most important art collection in the world !

In the Louvre's courtyard, called Squared Courtyard (Cour Carrée), you could see the Louvre Pyramid (Pyramide du Louvre), the famous glass pyramid, as well as the Carrousel Square (Place du Carrousel) with its Triumphal Arch built to the glory of the Napoleons' campaigns.
Pyramide du Louvre

LA PLACE DE LA CONCORDE
Metro : Concorde (lines 1, 8, 12)

The Concorde Square (Place de la Concorde) was formerly called the Revolution Square (Place de la Révolution) as it was the site of the guillotine. Indeed, during the French Revolution, lot of famous persons become headless there. Now, instead of a guillotine, you could see an Obelisk. It was offered to France by Egypt and comes from the ruins of the temple of Ramses II.
Place de la Concorde

LE JARDIN DES TUILERIES
Metro : Tuileries (line 1)

The Tuileries Garden (Jardin des Tuileries) -located between the Concorde Square and the Louvre Museum- looks like some kind of heaven place where time seems to stop. It is a garden with an Italian style ie, with fountains, a cave, a greenhouse and a menagerie !

LA PLACE VENDOME
Metro : Tuileries (line 1)

The Vendome Square (Place Vendome) (whose name was the one of the hotel demolished to built it) is famous all around the world as it is the central place for jewellery in Paris. In the centre of the square, you could see the Vendome Column (Colonne Vendôme) with Napoléon on its top.
Place Vendôme
Place Vendôme

LE PALAIS ROYAL
Address : Place du Palais Royal - Metro : Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1, 7)

The Royal Palace (Palais Royal) and its garden, surrounded by arcades, are full of charm and magic. It is really a peaceful place without any noise... All is quiet there though it is here that the French Revolution started.
At the beginning, the palace was owned by the Cardinal of Richelieu and then, by the kings of France. During the Revolution, it was a den of vice. Today, it houses the Council of State.
Palais Royal

LA BOURSE DU COMMERCE
Address : 2, rue Viarmes - Metro : Les Halles (line 4)

At 2 rue Viarmes you could formerly find the Nesle townhouse. Then, the Queen's townhouse was built there by Catherine de Médicis -its name become the Soissons townhouse and you could see the remaining column of this building next to the Commodity Exchange. Finally, there was the Wheat Exchange. The actual building, with a circular shape and a glass cupola, was built in 1889 and houses the Commodity Exchange (Bourse du Commerce).

LE MUSEE DE L'ORANGERIE
Address : Jardin des Tuileries - Metro : Tuileries (line 1)

This museum, located in the Tuileries Garden, features paintings by Monet, Renoir, Cézanne and Picasso.

SAINT ROCH CHURCH
Address : 296, rue Saint Honoré - Metro : Tuileries (line 1)

Saint Roch is a church with a Jesuit style full of works of art. Corneille and Diderot were buried there.

LA COMEDIE FRANCAISE
Address : 2, rue de Richelieu - Metro : Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1, 7)

The French actors' school (Comédie Française) is housed by the French Theatre (Théâtre Français).

Other things to see in that area
- The Victories Square (Place des Victoires), with its statue of Louis XIVth, is famous for its "haute couture" houses (Kenzo, Cacharel, Mugler, ...).

- The Faubourg Saint Honore Street (Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré) is full of jewellery, crystal and porcelain boutiques.

- The Royal Street (Rue Royale), that leads you to the Concorde Square (Place de la Concorde), as well as the Rivoli Street (Rue de Rivoli), with its famous arcades, are well-known for their exclusive shops.
 • Search for an hotel
 < Hotel Paris
 < Stars
 < Districts

 • Paris
 < Tourism in Paris

 



version française
version française

Hotels Paris  CybevasionRevenir à la page d'accueil
Rechercher un hôtel à Paris

Tourisme

Les différents quartiers de Paris
Le Louvre (1er) Champs Elysées - Triomphe (8è et 16è)
Madeleine - Opéra (2è et 9è) Montparnasse (14è)
Marais - République (4è, 11è et 12è) Le Trocadéro (16è)
Le Quartier Latin (5è) Montmartre (18è)
Saint Germain (6è) Les Halles
Tour Eiffel (7è et 15è) L'Ile de la Cité


LE LOUVRE (1er arrondissement)
LE LOUVRE
Métro : Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lignes 1,7)

Le Musée du Louvre est un imposant palais. A l'origine, c'est-à-dire en 1190, le Louvre était un château fort dont les vestiges sont visibles dans la crypte archéologique du musée. Par la suite, 4 siècles de rois français y vécurent. Il devint alors une résidence royaze. Aujourd'hui, il abrite la Mona Lisa, la Vénus de Milo et beaucoup d'autres. En effet, ce musée possède la plus importante collection d'art au monde !

Dans la Cour Carrée du Louvre vous pourrez admirer la Pyramide du Louvre (la célèbre pyramide de verre) ainsi que la Place du Carroussel avec son Arc de Triomphe érigé à la gloire des campagnes napoléoniennes.
Pyramide du Louvre

LA PLACE DE LA CONCORDE
Métro : Concorde (lignes 1, 8, 12)

La Place de la Concorde était autrefois appelée Place de la Révolution puisque c'était à cet endroit qu'avait été installé la guillotine. En effet, au cours de la Révolution française, nombre de personnes célèbres y ont perdu la vie. Aujourd'hui, la guillotine a été remplacé par un Obélisque. Ce dernier a été offert à la France par l'Egypte. Il provient des ruines du temple de Ramses II.
Place de la Concorde

LE JARDIN DES TUILERIES
Métro : Tuileries (ligne 1)

Le Jardin des Tuileries -situé entre la Place de la Concorde et la Musée du Louvre- est un véritable coin de paradis où le temps semble s'être arrêté. C'est un jardin de style italien qui est donc composé de fontaines, d'une grotte, d'une serre et d'une ménagerie !

LA PLACE VENDOME
Métro : Tuileries (ligne 1)

La Place Vendôme (dont le nom vient de l'hôtel qui a été détruit pour permettre sa construction) est mondialement connue pour son activité : la création de bijoux de luxe. Au centre de la place, vous pourrez admirer la Colonne Vendôme avec Napoléon à son sommet.
Place Vendôme
Place Vendôme

LE PALAIS ROYAL
Adresse : Place du Palais Royal - Métro : Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lignes 1, 7)

Le Palais Royal et son jardin entouré d'arcades sont pleins de charme et de magie. C'est un lieu d'une tranquillité absolue. Tout y est calme et ce, bien qu'il fut le berceau de la Révolution Française.
A l'origine, le palais appartient au Cardinal de Richelieu. Par la suite, il appartenu aux rois de France. Pendant la Révolution, il est devenu un lieu de débauche. Aujourd'hui, il abrite le Conseil de l'Etat.
Palais Royal

LA BOURSE DU COMMERCE
Adresse : 2, rue Viarmes - Métro : Les Halles (ligne 4)

Au numéro 2 de la rue Viarmes, il était auparavant possible de voir l'hôtel de Nesle. Par la suite, l'hôtel de la Reine y fut construit par Catherine de Médicis -son nom est ensuite devenu hôtel Soissons (dont il est possible de voir une colonne sur un des côtés de la Bourse du Commerce). Enfin, il y eut la Halle aux Blés. L'actuel bâtiment, avec sa forme circulaire et sa coupole de verre, a été construit en 1889 et abrite la Bourse du Commerce.

LE MUSEE DE L'ORANGERIE
Adresse : Jardin des Tuileries - Métro : Tuileries (ligne 1)

Le Musée de l'Orangerie, situé au coeur du Jardin des Tuileries, regroupe des peintures de Monet, Renoir, Cézanne et Picasso.

L'EGLISE SAINT ROCH
Adresse : 296, rue Saint Honoré - Métro : Tuileries (ligne 1)

L'Eglise Saint Roch est une église de style jésuite qui fourmille d'oeuvres d'art. Corneille et Diderot y ont été inhumés.

LA COMEDIE FRANCAISE
Adresse : 2, rue de Richelieu - Métro : Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lignes 1, 7)

La Comédie Française (qui est une école pour acteurs) développe son "activité" au sein du Théâtre Français.

A ne pas manquer dans ce quartier
- La Place des Victoires, avec sa statue de Louis XIV, est une place célèbre pour ses maisons de haute couture (telles que Kenzo, Cacharel, Mugler, ...).

- La Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré, célèbre pour ses boutiques de cristal et de porcelaine ainsi que pour ses bijouteries.

- La Rue Royale, qui mène à la Place de la Concorde, et la Rue de Rivoli (avec ses fameuses arcades) sont quant à elles connues pour leurs boutiques de luxe.
 • Chercher un hôtel
 < Hotel Paris
 < Etoiles
 < Arrondissements

 • Paris
 < Tourisme à Paris

 



English version
English version